Oprah Has Spoken

February 11, 2015

Oprah 2.0 is back in business with a fiction title that came out last year – Ruby by Cynthia Bond.  We’re starting with 15 more print (for 17 total right now) and 10 audio copies, as well as some eaudio and ebook in OverDrive (more copies) and 3M.  We even have an Oprah Book Club posting category to dust off.

Publisher summary: The epic, uRuby : a novelnforgettable story of a man determined to protect the woman he loves from the town desperate to destroy her–this beautiful and devastating debut heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction. nbsp; Ephram Jennings has never forgotten the beautiful girl with the long braids running through the piney woods of Liberty, their small East Texas town. Young Ruby, “the kind of pretty it hurt to look at,” has suffered beyond imagining, so as soon as she can, she flees suffocating Liberty for the bright pull of 1950s New York. Ruby quickly winds her way into the ripe center of the city–the darkened piano bars and hidden alleyways of the Village–all the while hoping for a glimpse of the red hair and green eyes of her mother. When a telegram fromnbsp;her cousin forces her to return home, thirty-year-old Ruby Bell finds herself reliving the devastating violence of her girlhood. With the terrifying realization that she might not be strong enough to fight her way back out again, Ruby struggles to survive her memories of the town’s dark past. Meanwhile, Ephram must choose between loyalty to the sister who raised him and the chance for a life with the woman he has loved since he was a boy. Full of life, exquisitely written, and suffused with the pastoral beauty of the rural South, Ruby is a transcendent novel of passion and courage. This wondrous page-turner rushes through the red dust and gossip of Main Street, to the pit fire where men swill bootleg outside Bloom’s Juke, to Celia Jennings’s kitchen where a cake is being made, yolk by yolk, that Ephram will use to try to begin again with Ruby. Utterly transfixing, with unforgettable characters, riveting suspense, and breathtaking, luminous prose, Ruby offers an unflinching portrait of man’s dark acts and the promise of the redemptive power of love.

 

Annotations from Baker & Taylor or Ingram
Listed by Author

     

The Forgotten Room
Child, Lincoln
Jeremy Logan (The Third Gate, Deep Storm) is an enigmalogist—an investigator who specializes in analyzing phenomena that have no obvious explanation. In this newest novel Logan finds himself on the storied coastline of Newport, Rhode Island, where he has been retained by Symposikon, one of the oldest and most respected think tanks in America. Just days earlier, a series of frightening events took place in the sprawling seaside mansion that houses the organization. One of its most distinguished doctors began acting erratically—violently attacking an assistant in the mansion’s opulent library and, moments later, killing himself in a truly shocking fashion. Terrified by the incident and the bizarre evidence left behind, the group hires Logan to investigate—discreetly—what drove this erudite man to madness.

Into the Fire
Couch, Dick/ Galdorisi, George/ Clancy, Tom/ Pieczenik, Steve R.
When a team of assassins murder a high-ranking North Korean general and his family in their sleep, making it look like a robbery, events are set in motion that could shake the balance of world powers. Meanwhile, a U.S. naval combat ship, the USS Milwaukee, is attacked by North Korean forces in the middle of a training exercise off the shore of South Korea, and Commander Kate Bigelow is forced to ground the ship to avoid being captured. The crew takes refuge on a tiny island, trapped dangerously between the grounded ship and a fleet of hostile North Korean soldiers.

Solitude Creek
Deaver, Jeffery
A tragedy occurs at a small concert venue on the Monterey Peninsula. Cries of “fire” are raised and, panicked, people run for the doors, only to find them blocked. A half dozen people die and others are seriously injured. But it’s the panic and the stampede that killed; there was no fire. Kathryn Dance–a brilliant California Bureau of Investigation agent and body language expert–discovers that the stampede was caused intentionally and that the perpetrator, a man obsessed with turning people’s own fears and greed into weapons, has more attacks planned.

Day Shift
Harris, Charlaine
There is no such thing as bad publicity, except in Midnight, Texas, where the residents like to keep to themselves. Even in a town full of secretive people, Olivia Charity is an enigma. She lives with the vampire Lemuel, but no one knows what she does; they only know that she’s beautiful and dangerous.

Born of Defiance
Kenyon, Sherrilyn
Born an Outcast, Talyn Batur has spent the whole of his life fighting against the prejudice of his people. An Andarion without a father is not something anyone wants to be. But when his companion’s brother draws him into a plot against the Andarion crown, he finds himself torn between the loyalty to their planetary government that his mother has beaten into him and his own beliefs of justice and right.

The Enemy Inside: A Paul Madriani Novel
Martini, Steve
One of the most successful lawyers in the country, Olinda Serna is a master at managing money as well as her influential clients. After years of fierce combat in the political trenches, Serna knows all the dirty secrets, where the bodies are buried, and how deeply they are stacked. When she’s killed in a roadside crash in the high desert of Southern California, powerful heads in Washington begin to panic, worried that their secrets may not be safe anymore.

Trauma
Palmer, Michael
When Carrie learns about an experimental program at the VA Medical Center exploring the use of Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS) that could forever cure the emotional and memory trauma of PTSD, it seems like a way back into medicine. Carrie is apprehensive, but a chance meeting with David Hoffman, a reporter for the Lowell Observer writing a story on PTSD, helps her overcome any hesitation. Her first surgery appears to be a success until her patient mysteriously vanishes. When a second patient also goes missing, Carrie employees the investigative skills of David, and together they descend into a labyrinth of murder and corruption. And the price Carrie might pay for asking the wrong questions could be her life.

14th Deadly Sin
Patterson, James/ Paetro, Maxine
With a beautiful baby daughter and a devoted husband, Detective Lindsay Boxer can safely say that her life has never been better. In fact (for a change), things seem to be going well for all the members of the Women’s Murder Club as they gather to celebrate San Francisco Medical Examiner Claire Washburn’s birthday. But the party is cut short when Lindsay is called to a gruesome crime scene, where a woman has been murdered in broad daylight.

Posted by Jenifer Brown

I have a publicity kit from Vertigo for their newer titles like Wake, Trillium and Hinterkin.  Some of the titles are “for mature readers”.  I was waiting for Wake which is finally in the system.  The kit includes bookmarks, posters and samples.  Would anyone like this kit?

 

Posted by Becky

 

The Vertigo kit is going to Arlington.  Becky

ALA Notable Books for 2015

February 4, 2015

From the American Library Association Midwinter Conference, the 2015 selections are:

Fiction

“All My Puny Sorrows” by Miriam Toews, McSweeneys
How much sacrifice does the love of a sister require?

“All the Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr, Scribner
Navigating the dark of World War II a German boy and a French girl survive using senses other than sight.

“The Bone Clocks: A Novel” by David Mitchell, Random House
The human condition: bleak but not without moments of redemption.

“The Children Act” by Ian McEwan, Nan A Talese
A deceptively simple story reveals complexities of life choices.

“The Crane Wife” by Patrick Ness, Penguin
A thoughtful exposition of love, in all its endless varieties.

“The Enchanted: A Novel” by Rene Denfeld, Harper
Death row inmates await escape through execution in this weirdly gorgeous tale.

“Narrow Road to the Deep North: A Novel” by Richard Flanagan, Alfred A. Knopf
Australian beaches, Burmese jungles, love and death permeate a story of World War II POWs.

“On Such a Full Sea” by Chang-Rae Lee, Riverhead
From fish farm to big pharma, 100 years later it’s all the same.

“Orfeo: A Novel” by Richard Powers, W.W. Norton
On the run from Homeland Security, Peter Els reflects on a life of attempted creation and immortality through music and chemistry.

“Something Rich and Strange: Selected Stories” by Ron Rash, Ecco
A brutal and beautiful collection of human tales set in the Carolinas.

“Station Eleven: A Novel” by Emily St. John Mandel, Alfred A. Knopf
Love, music, and Shakespeare sustain survivors of a global pandemic.

“Tigerman” by Nick Harkaway, Alfred A. Knopf
Funny, strange, and dangerous, the island of Mancreu may be beyond saving, but perhaps a superhero can bring redemption. “Full of win.”

Nonfiction

“The Birth of the Pill: How Four Crusaders Reinvented Sex and Launched a Revolution” by Jonathan Eig, W.W. Norton
The not-so-immaculate conception of the first oral contraceptive.

“Blood Royal: A True Tale of Crime and Detection in Medieval Paris” by Eric Jager Little, Brown and Company
Political intrigue that starts with a murder and ends with a throne.

“Dark Invasion: 1915 Germany’s Secret War and the Hunt for the First Terrorist Cell in America” by Howard Blum, Harper
German spies collaborate to unleash a campaign of terror in the United States at the start of World War I.

“Factory Man” by Beth Macy, Little, Brown and Company.
Made in America vs Made in China—is it too late to save one of these labels?

“In the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeanette” by Hampton Sides, Doubleday
Glory and heartbreak on the rocks.

“Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story” by Rick Bragg, Harper
“Can a man play rock and roll and still go to heaven?”

“Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption” by Bryan Stephenson, Spiegel & Grau
A searing indictment of institutionalized racism and state-sanctioned death.

“The Most Dangerous Book: The Battle for James Joyce’s Ulysses” by Kevin Birmingham, Penguin Press
Biography of a notorious classic which changed the landscape of literature and launched the Modernist movement.

“No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State” by Glenn Greenwald, Metropolitan Books, Henry Holt
A real life spy thriller and a cautionary tale about government data gathering.

“Pandora’s DNA: Tracing the Breast Cancer Genes Through History, Science, and One Family Tree” by Lizzie Stark, Chicago Review Press
One woman’s face-off with her genetic fate.

“The Secret History of Wonder Woman” by Jill Lepore, Alfred A. Knopf
Suffering Sappho, we need to teach these girls to have some fun!

“The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History” by Elizabeth Kolbert, Henry Holt and Company
Whether it’s rats or cockroaches that inherit the earth, this tale of species loss forms a narrative of evolution and annihilation.

Poetry

“The Blue Buick: New and Selected Poems” by B.H.Fairchild, W.W. Norton
A regional American experience through myth and memory.

“Gabriel: A Poem”, by Edward Hirsch, Knopf
A father’s lament.

The winners were selected by the Notable Books Council whose members include 12 expert readers’ advisory and collection development librarians. The Council considers titles based on stellar reviews published in standard library reviewing sources and other authoritative sources. Derived from this list is the long list for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, ALA’s highest honor for books written for adults.

We own all except The Blue Buick; we’ll submit an order this week.

HARPER LEE on order!

February 4, 2015

Sorry to shout but I have never seen anything like this.

Acquisitions just (and I mean just) placed Harper Lee’s new title Go Set a Watchman on order, and within an hour it has generated five holds despite being almost six months out and outside our usual ordering window of three months. I haven’t included a picture because there is no cover yet.  The pub date listed now is July 14th.

Right now we have 50 print copies and 30 audio copies on order, but we’ll be watching for the need to extend even that.  (Thanks for the nudge Nancy!)

Even though this is a 50 plus year hiatus between debut and sophomore novels, Lee wrote this in the 1950’s also and reportedly had thought the manuscript lost.  It was written before To Kill…but takes place later.  Read more at the New York Times, The Atlantic, and The Guardian.

Come and get it.

OK new rules: don’t highlight single titles without ARC’s and try not to offer just one ARC.  Message received!  Comment to claim and please go ahead and specify any second choices. Thank you. Summaries are from Baker & Taylor.

This first one is a Seattle author (the editor of Edible Seattle) with a local setting. We’re ordering it now.  The publisher is marketing as a read-alike for Anne Lamott.

Weaver, Tara Austen. Orchard House: How a Neglected Garden Taught One Family to Grow

Summary: PeelingOrchard House: How a Neglected Garden Taught One Family to Grow paint, stained floors, vined-over windows, a neglected and wild garden—Tara Austen Weaver can’t get the Seattle real-estate listing out of her head. Any sane person would’ve seen the abandoned property for what it was: a ramshackle half-acre filled with dead grass, blackberry vines, and trouble. But Tara sees potential and promise—not only for the edible bounty the garden could yield for her family, but for the personal renewal she and her mother might reap along the way.

 

 

 

This one I enjoyed myself and is a religious literary thriller and murder mystery that features the Shroud of Turin and passages of the Diatessaron as they relate to the shroud. It’s narrated by an Eastern Rite priest who works at the Vatican. This one’s a natural for Dan Brown/Matthew Pearl fans as well as Ian Caldwell readers.

Caldwell, Ian. The Fifth Gospel

The Fifth Gospel: A Novel

Summary: In 2004, as Pope John Paul II’s reign enters its twilight, a mysterious exhibit is under construction at the Vatican Museums. A week before it is scheduled to open, its curator is murdered at a clandestine meeting on the outskirts of Rome. That same night, a violent break-in rocks the home of the curator’s research partner, Father Alex Andreou, a Greek Catholic priest who lives inside the Vatican with his five-year-old son. When the papal police fail to identify a suspect in either crime, Father Alex, desperate to keep his family safe, undertakes his own investigation. To find the killer he must reconstruct the dead curator’s secret: what the four Christian gospels—and a little-known, true-to-life fifth gospel known as the Diatessaron—reveal about the Church’s most controversial holy relic. But just as he begins to understand the truth about his friend’s death and its consequences for the future of the world’s two largest Christian Churches, Father Alex finds himself hunted down by someone with a vested stake in the exhibit—someone he must outwit to survive.

 

 

Crawford, Susan.  The Pocket Wife

The Pocket Wife: A Novel

Summary: Dana Catrell is shocked when her neighbor Celia is brutally murdered. To Dana’s horror, she was the last person to see Celia alive. Suffering from mania, the result of her bipolar disorder, she has troubling holes in her memory, including what happened on the afternoon of Celia’s death.

Her husband’s odd behavior and the probing of Detective Jack Moss create further complications as she searches for answers. The closer she comes to piecing together the shards of her broken memory, the more Dana falls apart. Is there a murderer lurking inside her . . . or is there one out there in the shadows of reality, waiting to strike again?

 

 

Joy, David. Where All Light Tends to Go

Summary: The area suWhere All Light Tends to Gorrounding Cashiers, North Carolina, is home to people of all kinds, but the world that Jacob McNeely lives in is crueler than most. His father runs a methodically organized meth ring, with local authorities on the dime to turn a blind eye to his dealings. Having dropped out of high school and cut himself off from his peers, Jacob has been working for this father for years, all on the promise that his payday will come eventually. The only joy he finds comes from reuniting with Maggie, his first love, and a girl clearly bound for bigger and better things than their hardscrabble town.

 

The ALA Youth awards have been announced at ALA Midwinter.

 

  • 2015 John Newbery Medal: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
  • 2015 Randolph Caldecott Medal: The Adventures of Beekle: The unimaginary friend written and illustrated by Dan Santat
  • 2015 Michael L. Printz Award: I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson
  • Robert F. Sibert Award: The right word: Roget and his Thesaurus by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Melissa Sweet
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award: Mikis and the donkey by Bibi Dumon Tak (this book is on order)
  • Coretta Scott King Author Award: Brown girl dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
  • Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award: Firebird: Ballerina Misty Copeland shows a young girl how to dance like the Firebird, illustrated by Christopher Myers, text by Misty Copeland
  • Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: When I was the greatest by Jason Reynolds
  • Pura Belpré Author Award: I lived on Butterfly Hill by Marjorie Agosin, illustrated by Lee White
  • Pura Belpré Illustrator Award: Viva Frida written and illustrated by Yuyi Morales
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award: You are (not) small by Anna Kang, illustrated by Christopher Weyant
  • YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction ofr Young Adults: Popular: Vintage wisdom for a modern geek by Maya Van Wagenen
  • Stonewall Book Award: This day in June by Gayle E. Pitman, illustrated by Kristyna Litten (this book is on order)

These winners are available in our catalog now (unless noted), more copies will be ordered as needed.

In the News:

posting by Lorraine

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 496 other followers