It’s a Thing – Hygge

January 24, 2017

Hygge (The sites say pronounced hoogah or hue-gah and related to the word hug) is a Danish life philosophy of comfort and happiness that is trending big at the moment. I just noticed MOST of our titles are starting to get out of the Holds Purchase Alert but of course we will be supply the ratio. As yet this seems a milder craze than Kondo tidying up, perhaps appropriate for a more mellow approach to new year self-improvement. The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking has 52 holds, one more than 5 minutes ago as I type.

 

How to hygge : the Nordic secrets to a happy life  The book of hygge : the Danish art of comfort, coziness, and connection  The Little Book of Hygge : Danish Secrets to Happy Living

 

Books that get re-printed as media tie-ins are still robust and often found in the catalog. Some seemingly don’t do quite as well as hoped – War Dogs and Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates being two recent examples.

However, Toronto is in swing for life and lit inspired screenings, and Jim wanted to point out a nice link for you that has a reading list of book related to highlighted films at the Toronto International Film Festival.  The dates these are debuting are September 8th and 18th.

This list is interesting and goes way beyond the usual suspects.  Of course, once the movie comes out the main character (or real person!) is difficult to imagine any other way than how the lead actor looks.

 

The Snowden files : the inside story of the world's most wanted man The Snowden Files  vAmerican pastoral Both Ways Is the Only Way I Want It

Hey Sno-Isle Bookstore libraries (and all others):  if you haven’t linked to EarlyWord, you should.   The website publishes news for libraries about the publishing world with an emphasis on the Next Big Thing (well, Things).  EarlyWord scans the publishing world – and the media world – to help us stay on top of the titles our customers will be asking about.  If you’re stumped for display ideas, this website is a great resource.

Here’s an example:  a recent post discusses the renewed interest in Sherlock Holmes, which will heighten with the release of the second Robert Downey film (scheduled for theaters in mid-December).  In addition to titles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, you can supplement a display with the list of Sherlock Holmes wannabe titles, like House of Silk, by Anthony Horowitz.

Posted by Nancy

Happy Canada Day!

Our Canadian colleagues and customers are probably off celebrating somewhere, but whether or not our travels will take us past the Peace Arch this summer, it’s a great time for the rest of us to think about all the great popular culture and literature that originates north of the border.

To this brash American, Canada has always seemed like the paragon of a progressive, mannerly, orderly society: low government debt, low crime rates, conscientious bilingualism, metrication process almost complete, Thanksgiving all over with by Halloween, and so forth.  But in fact Canadian culture offers a variety of moods and attitudes also featuring, among others, post-apocalyptic and postmodern angst, biting hip satire, and likeable hamminess.

Let’s start with the postmodern. Douglas Coupland is practically local, a  Vancouver novelist whose books have such a strong grungey sensibility that we’d be happy to claim him as a Northwesterner if only he lived this side of the border.  His first novels’ very titles tell you where he’s coming from: Shampoo Planet, Microserfs, Girlfriend in a Coma, Life After God, All Families Are Psychotic, to name but a few.  A couple that Sno-Isle owns are Hey, Nostradamus (a multi-perspective narrative of characters affected by a Columbine-style shooting in a Vancouver suburban school), and jPOD (a novel about six young adults working for a Burnaby software company who are assigned the same cubicle accidentally).  NoveList mentions Coupland as a read-a-like for Chuck Palahniuk, so if you want to attempt to steer  Palahniuk readers to anything else that might satisfy them, you might mention him.

More classically political but still darkly post-apocalyptic is Margaret Atwood, who won’t need an introduction for most of you.  Her disturbing, anti-corporate but ultimately hopeful Oryx and Crake, about an ecological dystopia featuring a new species of genetically modified “people” whose main character may be the last human on Earth, is one of my speculative fiction favorites.  In 2009, Atwood wrote a prequel called Year of the Flood, which I never got around to reading. I think this summer is a good time to catch up with her.

Moving to biting satire, if you feel like a cross between The Daily Show and Amy Sedaris, you won’t want to miss Toronto native Samantha Bee, who besides contributing her own amusing angles in the sidebars of Jon Stewart’s books, has come out herself with You’re A Horrible Person But I Like You: The Believer Book of Advice and I Know I Am But What Are You?  I’d find Bee a bit on the cruel side if she wasn’t so hard on herself. 

 Finally, I just wanted to mention my very favorite Canadian, the unstoppable William Shatner.  This man deserves every bit of the limelight he takes up.  Productive and prolific, he’s contributed to multiple Star Trek books and penned a charming autobiography Up Till Now, as well as (of course) appeared in numerous popular TV shows over decades.  His singing career proves he will brave ridicule to be fondly remembered.  Here’s a behind the scenes of his patriotic rendering of O Canada.

posted by Darren

Galley Cat posted a wonderful video Jersey Shore Meets Oscar Wilde where two stars of The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde now on Broadway launched a video series–reading Jersey Shore dialogue in the style of Wilde’s play:

Part 1:

I found the rest of these on You Tube (be aware that the language is direct from “Jersey Shore” and not always bleeped out).

Part 2:

Part 3:

Part 4:

Part 5:

posting by Lorraine

Use the PAC, Luke…

January 6, 2011

The blog Libreaction looks at Jocasta Nu, Jedi Librarian and the Jedi Archives after seeing her in an episode of Star Wars: The Clone Wars:

So what of the Jedi Library access policy? Well I am informed that the archives were open all hours (pleased to hear they got something right) and were accessible to all Jedi in need of information (ah but just Jedi you understand, not any old random members of the Coruscant populace researching for their GCSEs). What is more, Jedi were ‘welcome to scan or copy most any data in the Stacks’ although the next sentence of the policy rather contradicts this: ‘removal of any material from the Archives was strictly prohibited’ – some work needed on that policy methinks. Furthermore it transpires that remote access to databases was completely prohibited, meaning that Jedi had to find time in their busy droid-battling schedule to travel to the Library, which probably explains why its COMPLETELY EMPTY throughout the episode I was watching. I can’t imagine that Jocasta’s annual footfall stats are higher than mine and on the face of it she certainly appears to have a much more exciting collection.

Because of Jocasta Nu’s inability to help Obi-Wan Kenobi locate some information he needed in one of the Star Wars prequels, she has been named “The worst librarian in the galaxy.” What do you think?

via Bookshelves of Doom

posting by Lorraine

ever think that “Avatar” seemed vaguely familiar?  wonder no more:

this made the rounds in January 2010 (it was viral, yet i don’t remember seeing it anywhere) and is attributed to the mysterious “Matt Bateman.”  (via WSJ)

and then there’s “Inception” which seemed to me a cross between “The Matrix” and Joss Whedon’s “The Dollhouse.”  but it appears that Christopher Nolan owes it all to Scrooge McDuck:

a discussion on reddit, a social news site, lead to the discovery.  read the source of the inspiration in its entirety here.  (via boingboing)

is nothing from Hollywood original these days? 😉

posting by marin