This is scheduled for July 4th and every random skim has made me laugh out loud.  I can only describe it as a naughty dead-on satire of literary refinement. It’ll probably be a pleasure for any Semple reader or those who liked Elisabeth Egan’s hysterical A Window Opens.  Please comment to claim, or if not I’ll be happy to take it home to savor.

Who Is Rich? by Matthew KlamPublisher Summary: 

Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel…The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age—for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You.

According to EarlyWord, this title got a big boost from the author’s appearance on NPR – always a potential catapult for a chart-jumper.  Just a day after publication we have 44 holds and growing (on 3 intial copies – my face is frostbite red).  Hampton Sides’ In the Kingdom of Ice has circulated 337 times, so this seems bound to rack up checkouts as well.

Ice Ghosts

Summary from W. W. Norton: 

Ice Ghosts weaves together the epic story of the Lost Franklin Expeditionof 1845—whose two ships and crew of 129 were lost to the Arctic ice—withthe modern tale of the scientists, divers, and local Inuit behind the incrediblediscovery of the flagship’s wreck in 2014. Paul Watson, a Pulitzer Prize–winningjournalist who was on the icebreaker that led the discovery expedition, tellsa fast-paced historical adventure story: Sir John Franklin and the crew of theHMS Erebus and Terror setting off in search of the fabled Northwest Passage,the hazards they encountered and the reasons they were forced to abandonship hundreds of miles from the nearest outpost of Western civilization, andthe decades of searching that turned up only rumors of cannibalism and a fewscattered papers and bones—until a combination of faith in Inuit lore and thelatest science yielded a discovery for the ages.

This is now on order in the catalog and will be published by Simon & Schuster in September.  We’re starting with 40 copies.

Publisher Summary: 

George and LizzieFrom “America’s librarian” and NPR books commentator Nancy Pearl comes an emotionally riveting debut novel about an unlikely marriage at a crossroads.

George and Lizzie have radically different understandings of what love and marriage should be. George grew up in a warm and loving family—his father an orthodontist, his mother a stay-at-home mom—while Lizzie grew up as the only child of two famous psychologists, who viewed her more as an in-house experiment than a child to love.

Over the course of their marriage, nothing has changed—George is happy; Lizzie remains…unfulfilled. When a shameful secret from Lizzie’s past resurfaces, she’ll need to face her fears in order to accept the true nature of the relationship she and George have built over a decade together.

With pitch-perfect prose and compassion and humor to spare, George and Lizzie is an intimate story of new and past loves, the scars of childhood, and an imperfect marriage at its defining moments.

Besides unsurprising injections of new copies for Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology and George Saunders’ Lincoln in the Bardo, a somewhat unexpected rush on a flower gardening book appears in the Purchase Orders Placed Report this week. Floret Farm’s Cut Flower Garden (Hachette, published March 7) by Erin Benzakein (et al.) features a how-to on growing flowers from Skagit Valley’s own farm-to-centerpiece operation Floret Flowers.  Becky ordered this back in November and now it’s running 61 holds and rising.

 
Floret Farm's Cut Flower GardenPublisher Summary: From Erin Benzakein, a leader in the locaflor farm-to-centerpiece movement and owner of internationally renowned Floret Flower Farm, Cut Flower Garden is equal parts instruction and inspiration—a book overflowing with lush photography of magnificent flowers and breathtaking arrangements organized by season. This beautiful guide to growing, harvesting, and arranging gorgeous blooms year-round gives readers vital tools to nurture a stunning flower garden and use their blossoms to create showstopping arrangements. With irresistible photos of Erin’s flower farm that showcase exquisite blooms, tips for growing in a variety of spaces and climates as well as step-by-step instructions for lavish garlands, airy centerpieces, and romantic floral décor for every season, Floret Farm’s Cut Flower Garden informs and entices gardeners of all skill levels.

Though no one seems to be getting official word from the publisher Hachette or any other news, it appears all currently-ordered upcoming print and physical audiobook titles of James Patterson’s new Bookshots series are being cancelled.  This has been confirmed from our vendors Baker & Taylor and Ingram. The print titles are definitely cancelled and the audio and e content may be but it’s less clear.  I will update you on any news.  In the meantime, we are cancelling orders and associated holds in Polaris as we get confirmation of cancelled publication from vendors,  and will rely on the usual cancellation message to customers. Please spread the word.

 

Do NOT expect these in our physical collections any time soon:

Update 3/9/17: We just got word from OverDrive that they believe this series is continuing in electronic formats as they seem to be doing well.

    Juror #3

 

 

It’s a Thing – Hygge

January 24, 2017

Hygge (The sites say pronounced hoogah or hue-gah and related to the word hug) is a Danish life philosophy of comfort and happiness that is trending big at the moment. I just noticed MOST of our titles are starting to get out of the Holds Purchase Alert but of course we will be supply the ratio. As yet this seems a milder craze than Kondo tidying up, perhaps appropriate for a more mellow approach to new year self-improvement. The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking has 52 holds, one more than 5 minutes ago as I type.

 

How to hygge : the Nordic secrets to a happy life  The book of hygge : the Danish art of comfort, coziness, and connection  The Little Book of Hygge : Danish Secrets to Happy Living

 

This comes out in April from Tor, the first adult Doctorow novel in eight years. Comment to claim. Today I am placing an order and it should be in the catalog shortly as well.

 

Publisher Summary: Cory Doctorow’s first adult novel in eight years: an epic tale of revolution, love, post-scarcity, and the end of death.  Hubert Vernon Rudolph Clayton Irving Wilson Alva Anton Jeff Harley Timothy Curtis Cleveland Cecil Ollie Edmund Eli Wiley Marvin Ellis Nicholas Espinoza—known to his friends as Hubert, Etc—was too old to be at that Communist party.  But after watching the breakdown of modern society, he really has no where left to be—except amongst the dregs of disaffected youth who party all night and heap scorn on the sheep they see on the morning commute. After falling in with Natalie, an ultra-rich heiress trying to escape the clutches of her repressive father, the two decide to give up fully on formal society—and walk away.  After all, now that anyone can design and print the basic necessities of life—food, clothing, shelter—from a computer, there seems to be little reason to toil within the system.  It’s still a dangerous world out there, the empty lands wrecked by climate change, dead cities hollowed out by industrial flight, shadows hiding predators animal and human alike. Still, when the initial pioneer walkaways flourish, more people join them. Then the walkaways discover the one thing the ultra-rich have never been able to buy: how to beat death. Now it’s war – a war that will turn the world upside down.  Fascinating, moving, and darkly humorous, Walkaway is a multi-generation SF thriller about the wrenching changes of the next hundred years…and the very human people who will live their consequences.