This is scheduled for July 4th and every random skim has made me laugh out loud.  I can only describe it as a naughty dead-on satire of literary refinement. It’ll probably be a pleasure for any Semple reader or those who liked Elisabeth Egan’s hysterical A Window Opens.  Please comment to claim, or if not I’ll be happy to take it home to savor.

Who Is Rich? by Matthew KlamPublisher Summary: 

Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel…The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age—for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You.

This is now on order in the catalog and will be published by Simon & Schuster in September.  We’re starting with 40 copies.

Publisher Summary: 

George and LizzieFrom “America’s librarian” and NPR books commentator Nancy Pearl comes an emotionally riveting debut novel about an unlikely marriage at a crossroads.

George and Lizzie have radically different understandings of what love and marriage should be. George grew up in a warm and loving family—his father an orthodontist, his mother a stay-at-home mom—while Lizzie grew up as the only child of two famous psychologists, who viewed her more as an in-house experiment than a child to love.

Over the course of their marriage, nothing has changed—George is happy; Lizzie remains…unfulfilled. When a shameful secret from Lizzie’s past resurfaces, she’ll need to face her fears in order to accept the true nature of the relationship she and George have built over a decade together.

With pitch-perfect prose and compassion and humor to spare, George and Lizzie is an intimate story of new and past loves, the scars of childhood, and an imperfect marriage at its defining moments.

The standing order has been updated again this month (last rev. September 2016), and aside from a few quantity tweaks the main news is the addition of Graeme Simsion.  Simsion is now on book number 3  – The Best of Adam Sharp, published May 2nd by St. Martin’s.  His regularity and enduring popularity, especially in our system, make him a good fit for early and significant orders.  The Rosie Effect print book has circulated 690 times and the Rosie Project (which was a Best Bet) an incredible 3025 times!  The changes will be posted to the intranet as well soon.

Each week we get a report informing us of additional purchases of popular titles from the Holds Purchase Alert.  Next week I’d like to start featuring purchase-triggering authors who may not yet be on the standing order but should definitely be on the watch list.  Stay tuned.

 

Publisher summary: Two decades The Best of Adam Sharpago, Adam Sharp’s piano playing led him into a passionate relationship with Angelina Brown, an intelligent and strong-willed actress. They had a chance at something more–but Adam didn’t take it.

Now, on the cusp of turning fifty, Adam likes his life. He’s happy with his partner Claire, he excels in music trivia at quiz night at the local pub, he looks after his mother, and he does the occasional consulting job in IT. But he can never quite shake off his nostalgia for what might have been.

And then, out of nowhere, from the other side of the world, Angelina gets in touch. What does she want? Does Adam dare to live dangerously?

Set to the soundtrack of our lives, The Best of Adam Sharp follows along with emotion and humor as one man looks back on his past and decides if having a second chance is worth the risk.

 

Though no one seems to be getting official word from the publisher Hachette or any other news, it appears all currently-ordered upcoming print and physical audiobook titles of James Patterson’s new Bookshots series are being cancelled.  This has been confirmed from our vendors Baker & Taylor and Ingram. The print titles are definitely cancelled and the audio and e content may be but it’s less clear.  I will update you on any news.  In the meantime, we are cancelling orders and associated holds in Polaris as we get confirmation of cancelled publication from vendors,  and will rely on the usual cancellation message to customers. Please spread the word.

 

Do NOT expect these in our physical collections any time soon:

Update 3/9/17: We just got word from OverDrive that they believe this series is continuing in electronic formats as they seem to be doing well.

    Juror #3

 

 

This comes out in April from Tor, the first adult Doctorow novel in eight years. Comment to claim. Today I am placing an order and it should be in the catalog shortly as well.

 

Publisher Summary: Cory Doctorow’s first adult novel in eight years: an epic tale of revolution, love, post-scarcity, and the end of death.  Hubert Vernon Rudolph Clayton Irving Wilson Alva Anton Jeff Harley Timothy Curtis Cleveland Cecil Ollie Edmund Eli Wiley Marvin Ellis Nicholas Espinoza—known to his friends as Hubert, Etc—was too old to be at that Communist party.  But after watching the breakdown of modern society, he really has no where left to be—except amongst the dregs of disaffected youth who party all night and heap scorn on the sheep they see on the morning commute. After falling in with Natalie, an ultra-rich heiress trying to escape the clutches of her repressive father, the two decide to give up fully on formal society—and walk away.  After all, now that anyone can design and print the basic necessities of life—food, clothing, shelter—from a computer, there seems to be little reason to toil within the system.  It’s still a dangerous world out there, the empty lands wrecked by climate change, dead cities hollowed out by industrial flight, shadows hiding predators animal and human alike. Still, when the initial pioneer walkaways flourish, more people join them. Then the walkaways discover the one thing the ultra-rich have never been able to buy: how to beat death. Now it’s war – a war that will turn the world upside down.  Fascinating, moving, and darkly humorous, Walkaway is a multi-generation SF thriller about the wrenching changes of the next hundred years…and the very human people who will live their consequences.

 

Both of these are fiction but have little else in common. Edgar & Lucy is dark, disturbing, strangely unique, moving, and interspersed with LOL dialog/relief, perhaps like The Nix in literary qualities but more foreboding and personal and less satirical. The Killing Bay is a Faroes sequel to The Blood Strand, which circulated 121 times in our system this year.

Comment to claim.

Ould, Chris. The Killing Bay.  Titan Books, February 2017. 

When a group of international activists arrive on the Faroe Islands, intent on stopping the traditional whale hunts, tensions between islanders and protestors run high. And when a woman is found murdered only hours after a violent confrontation at a whale drive, the circumstances seem purposely designed to increase animosity between the two sides. For English DI Jan Reyna and local detective Hjalti Hentze, the case quickly exposes personal connections and con icts of interest. But as they dig deeper it becomes increasingly clear that the murder has other, more sinister aspects to it. Knowing evidence is being hidden from them, neither policeman knows who to trust, or how far some people might go to defend their beliefs.

 

 

 

 

Lodato, Victor.  Edgar & Lucy.  St. Martin’s, March 2017. 

Edgar and Lucy

Edgar and Lucy is a page-turning literary masterpiece–a stunning examination of family love and betrayal.  Eight-year-old Edgar Fini remembers nothing of the accident people still whisper about. He only knows that his father is gone, his mother has a limp, and his grandmother believes in ghosts. When Edgar meets a man with his own tragic story, the boy begins a journey into a secret wilderness where nothing is clear–not even the line between the living and the dead. In order to save her son, Lucy has no choice but to confront the demons of her past.  Profound, shocking, and beautiful, Edgar and Lucy is a thrilling adventure and the unlikeliest of love stories.  ” I love this book . Profoundly spiritual and hilariously specific…an unusual and intimate epic that manages to capture the wonder and terror of both child and parenthood with an uncanny clarity.” – Lena Dunham, bestselling author of Not That Kind of Girl “This tale gradually exerts a fiendish grip on the reader” – Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand ” Took my breath away. ” — Sophie McManus, author of The Unfortunates “A quirky coming-of-age novel that deepens into something dark and strange without losing its heart or its sense of wonder .” – Tom Perrotta, bestselling author of The Leftovers

This is a first person coming of age story set mostly in 1970’s New York, with an original plot, sophisticated metaphors, and elegant writing.  It could also be a potential teen crossover but the themes and writing style will likely appeal most to an adult audience. The moral tension of a 13 year old boy drawn to an interesting and exciting way to bond with his separated father, not knowing whether what they are doing is noble or criminal or some of both, is keen. I am ordering copies that should be in the catalog within a couple weeks. Comment to claim.

Gill, John Freeman.  The Gargoyle Hunters. Knopf, March 2017. 
The Gargoyle Hunters by John Freeman GillPublisher Summary: “Griffin Watts is 13 years old in 1974 New York, a city which, at the brink of financial collapse, seems to crumble around him at roughly the same rate as his family. Desperate to forge a connection to his father, Griffin gets co-opted into his illicit and dangerous architectural salvage business, which allows him to discover the centuries old sculptures (gargoyles) carved into buildings all over the city by immigrant artisans. As his father’s obsession with preserving the landmark buildings around him descends into mania, Griffin has to learn how to build himself into the person he wants to become–and let go of what he cannot keep” —