ARC of Emma Cline’s The Girls! [claimed thank you]

June 16, 2016

Please comment to claim. It’s not literally about the Manson Helter Skelter scene but takes inspiration from the time/place.  Emma Cline was at Day of Dialog this year and spoke about family dynamics and the vulnerability of the main character to groups offering a sense of belonging, as well as violence as a backdrop.  Peter’s read and says it’s raw in content but not writing style. This one has a lot of holds in our system.

 

The girls : a novelPublisher Summary: An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong–this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’s The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad .  Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged–a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.  Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction.

Advertisements

3 Responses to “ARC of Emma Cline’s The Girls! [claimed thank you]”

  1. Sandra Barnhart Says:

    I’m interested in this one. Sandra @ BRI

  2. Darren Says:

    Great – enjoy

  3. Sandra Barnhart Says:

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: