National book Awards 2014

November 20, 2014


The 2014 National Book Awards were announced last night.

Young People’s Literature: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Poetry: Faithful and Virtuous Night by Louise Glück

Nonfiction winner: Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, & Faith in the New China by Evan Osnos

Fiction Winner: Redeployment by Phil Klay


Ursula K. Le Guin was presented the 2014 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.  Publishers Weekly posted:

Le Guin, who won the National Book Award for The Farthest Shore in 1973, thanked the National Book Foundation for the “beautiful reward,” one she shared with her agent and editors. She also “rejoiced” in accepting it for “the writers who were excluded from literature for so long, [her] fellow authors of fantasy and science fiction, writers of the imagination, who for the last 50 years watched the beautiful rewards go to the so called realists.”

More information:


All of the winners are available from the Sno-Isle Libraries collection.

posting by Lorraine


2 Responses to “National book Awards 2014”

  1. Jeanne Crisp Says:

    Ursula Le Guin’s acceptance speech includes her chiding “my own publishers in a silly panic of ignorance and greed charging public libraries for an ebook 6 or 7 times more than they charge consumers” Listen at:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: