National Book Awards announced

November 22, 2013


The 2013 National Book Awards were announced on 11/21.  Expect hold queues to grow for the winners:

For fiction:  The Good Lord Bird, by James McBride

Nonfiction:  The Unwinding:  an Inner History of the New America, by George Packer

Poetry:  Incarnadine:  Poems, by Mary Szybist

Young People’s (their term, not ours):  The Thing About Luck, by Cynthia Kadohata

The National Book Awards celebrate the best of American literature each year.  Conferred by the National Book Foundation, the goal of the award program (and the organization) is to expand the audience of readers and contribute to the cultural landscape of American letters. 

posted by Nancy


One Response to “National Book Awards announced”

  1. Darren Says:

    Thanks for posting! The poetry winner Incarnadine is stimulating visually and in terms of ideas as well as literary merit. This is an excellent all American award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: