National Book Critics Circle Awards announced

March 11, 2011

Yesterday, the National Book Critics Circle announced the following winners of its of its book awards for publishing year 2010:

Fiction Jennifer Egan,  A visit from the goon squad

Autobiography Darin Strauss, Half a Life 

Nonfiction Isabel Wilkerson, The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration 

Criticism Clare Cavanagh, Lyric Poetry and Modern Politics: Russia, Poland, and the West

Poetry C. D. Wright, One with Others: [a little book of her days]

Biography Sarah Bakewell, How To Live: Or, A Life of Montaigne in One Question and Twenty Attempts at an Answer

NBCC blog  tells more about the winners and all of the finalists.

Sno-Isle owns all of the title except Lyric poetry and modern politics which the NBCC  blog says is  a  “deeply scholarly yet lucid study hundred years of poems in three languages from the Northwestern University professor”.

Posted by Becky 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: