grooveshark, digital music, and library collections

December 29, 2010

Chances are more than good that many of you are familiar with Pandora, the digital music service that suggests songs based on your likes or dislikes.  It’s a service that’s free and can be a great way to discover new music.  I probably would never have come across Richard X.  Heyman ( a power pop artist with a voice that reminds me a bit of tom petty) if it hadn’t been for Pandora’s suggestion.   Pandora’s great strength is it’s music search engine that engine that throws new artists at you, but in doing so there are bound to be songs/artists that you can’t stand for a moment (do you hear me Styxx, i’m talking to you.  UGH come sail away).   And that points out the largest reason why pandora and i parted ways a while ago, because pandora limits the number of songs that you can pass on in a given  timeframe.

Which is why I’ve fallen hard for grooveshark.   Go there and play around for a while and then come back.  you can listen to my christmas mix if you’re into that kind of thing.

grooveshark allows you to search for artists, create playlists, and then share them with friends on facebook and twitter.

with all of this great digital music out there and as more people are using their laptops to send music  to their stereo systems(i didn’t play a single christmas CD this year, just ran my grooveshark holiday playlist), i’m wondering where library collections of CDs will be in 5 years.

i don’t have any answers, but i’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

posting by jim who will never understand the attraction of Styxx, and doesn’t care who knows it.

8 Responses to “grooveshark, digital music, and library collections”

  1. Anne Says:

    Interesting… I’ll have to check that out, especially if I want to share a playlist or something on FB…

    I liked Styx in high school, but then I got over it. 🙂

    It seems for the time being that music CDs circulate well – but they do eventually get scratched up and unuseable. I saw something recently about libraries providing mp3 downloads to patrons, but it was at the rate of $1.25/song (the library’s cost). That seemed pretty high to me, even with download limits etc. A CD can still circulate a lot of times before the end of it’s life!

    But of course we’re limited by budget on the number of CDs we can offer.

    No answers here, either – I wonder if demand for CDs will dwindle as more and more people move to digital music. I expect it would.

  2. Jim McCluskey Says:

    this morning i’m thinking that as internet speeds get exponentially faster more and more people will be listening to these internet sites through their phones. CDs are probably safe for quite a while if for no other reason than that the digital compression of music won’t satisfy the audiophiles out there, but for the average person listening through headphones it would probably be okay.

    i know the service you’re talking about, we looked at it this year, but passed because of costs, but SPL will be adding it next year.

  3. Anne Says:

    I’m going to stick with my trusty iPod for now, I just need one with more memory so it can hold my entire music collection!

    I played around on grooveshark a bit, searched a couple of bands and listened to one of the stations. It was alright, but they only had three songs for one of the bands, and nothing for a couple others – it looks like bands can upload their own music if they want?

    I sometimes stream on LastFm when I don’t have my iPod handy – I’ve “scrobbled” so much there it’s practically like having my full collection available. Or I can listen to my husband’s “station” which has even more…

  4. Jim McCluskey Says:

    i messed around a bit with lastfm a couple years ago, and didn’t think it was for me. i can’t recall why now, but i think it might have been that i was a bit perplexed by the interface and didn’t want to dig deep enough to get it when there were easier sources out there that suited my casual interest much better.

  5. David Says:

    I think there’s still life in the CD format, especially for libraries. I’ve been helping the Anacortes Library promote their jazz collection, and so I’ve been listening to a lot more jazz lately. Checking out a box set and reading the liner notes is invaluable to me for discovering new music. Casual listeners can be better served by downloads and streaming music, perhaps, but nothing beats the Full Meal Deal.
    Oh, and if Journey can come back from the dead, can Styx be far behind? We may be one Glee episode away!

  6. Jim McCluskey Says:

    shudder.

  7. Michael Says:

    Jim, thanks for the tip – I will definitely check out grooveshark.

    I predict CDs will be phasing out in 5 years, with subscription based streaming a prefered alternate (why own when you can listen to whatever you want whenever you want for a monthly fee). iPods, smartphones, etc. will continue to be a dominant means of storing downloadable mp3 purchases. That being said, CDs will probably still be around, but most likely in some diminished capacity (hey, think of how long it took us to get rid of VHS tapes).

    Speaking of relics, Styx was huge in the midwest where I grew up (they’re from Chicago). Say what you will about them today, but in the days of big hair bands and AM pop radio, they were a force to be reckoned with.

  8. Jack Says:

    Wow, great share! 🙂

    If you want to share the music on Facebook, you might want to check out Snoost. I am starting to prefer it to GS, even though they haven’t made a proper playlist feature yet.


Leave a Reply

