the tortoise wins

September 23, 2010

Julia Stuart’s “The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise” is the author’s second novel and is picking up speed since its August 10th release date.  the novel is summarized as

Chaos reigns over Beefeater Balthazar Jones’s life at the Tower of London as he watches his marriage fall apart, loses his beloved pet tortoise, and is assigned the task of housing the queen’s assortment of animals.

EW gave it an ‘A’ and in the starred review from LJ, the Verdict is:

Charming, witty, and heartfelt, Stuart’s second novel is even more delightful than her debut, The Matchmaker of Périgord. A perfect suggestion for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society; highly recommended.

it should come as no surprise that the publisher’s blurb planted the seed that “The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise” is a read-alike for their “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society,” but it does seem that booksellers agree.

arc to the first Sno-Isle Libraries employee to comment.

posting by marin

Advertisements

3 Responses to “the tortoise wins”

  1. Kat Says:

    Sounds like the kind of book my mom would looove.

  2. myounker Says:

    it’s on the way!

  3. KathyS Says:

    I’ve already read the library’s copy, and it certainly has a British sense of the ridiculous and oddball, interwoven with sadness


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: