need a read-alike for “The Kite Runner?”

August 18, 2010

a debut novel by Mark T. Mustian called “The Gendarme” might be a possibility.  picked as one of the titles to watch at BEA’s “Shout ‘n’ Share,” “The Gendarme” was described by Amy Einhorn of Amy Einhorn Books (Penguin Group) as a read-alike for “The Kite Runner.”  LJ gave it a starred review with the verdict:

First novelist Mustian writes relentlessly, telling his haunting story in brief bursts of luminous yet entirely unsentimental prose and reminding us that, when life gets bloody, we had better watch out for our own humanity.

since this doesn’t provide much as far as what the book is about, here’s the Baker & Taylor blurb:

Seen by those around him as a virtually senile nonagenarian, Emmet Conn is haunted by vivid memories of a past he and others deliberately worked to forget, a situation that compels him to seek out the love of his life to beg her forgiveness.

i have 2 arcs for staff from  Sno-Isle Libraries, just add a comment.

posting by marin

Advertisements

2 Responses to “need a read-alike for “The Kite Runner?””

  1. Jenny Says:

    Loved the Kite Runner, will have to give this one a try!

  2. jackie specht Says:

    I would love to have a copy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: