the Russians are coming!

June 10, 2010

sorry, i couldn’t help it.  back in April, LJ Fiction editor Wilda Williams identified a trend of Russian noir in the upcoming publishing cycle.  included in that group is William Ryan’s first novel, “The Holy Thief.”  Andrew Martin of Minotaur offers it up as a read-alike to David Benioff’s “City of Thieves.”  from the publisher’s blurb describing the book

It’s Moscow, 1936 and Stalin’s Great Terror is beginning. In a deconsecrated Church, a young woman is found dead, her mutilated body displayed on the altar for all to see. Captain Alexei Dimitrevich Korolev, finally beginning to enjoy the benefits of his success with the Criminal Investigation Division of the Moscow Militia, is asked to investigate. But when he discovers that the victim is an American citizen, the NKVD – the most feared organization in Russia – becomes involved. Soon, Korolev’s every move is under close scrutiny and one false move will mean exile to The Zone, where the enemies of the Soviet State, both real and imagined, meet their fate in the frozen camps of the far north.

LJ also featured an interview with the first-time novelist in which Ryan explains his research (which, for the record, didn’t involve copious amounts of vodka), the challenge of involving historic figures still living in a work of fiction, what it’s like to join the ranks of lawyers-turned-novelists, and more.  “The Holy Thief” is the first in a series to feature Korolev.

free arc to the first Sno-Isle Libraries employee to comment.

posting by marin

Advertisements

One Response to “the Russians are coming!”

  1. jeanne crisp Says:

    one of my favorite series is the Porfiry Rostnikov books written by Stuart Kaminsky. I’d love to read this new author; I’ll hope that he’s as good.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: