oh snap!

June 1, 2010

proving that everyone’s a critic (though some are more qualified than others), here are some of the snarkiest quips from authors commenting on other authors as collected in “The 50 best author vs. author put-downs of all time

John Updike, according to Gore Vidal (2008)
I can’t stand him. Nobody will think to ask because I’m supposedly jealous; but I out-sell him. I’m more popular than he is, and I don’t take him very seriously…oh, he comes on like the worker’s son, like a modern-day D.H. Lawrence, but he’s just another boring little middle-class boy hustling his way to the top if he can do it.

John Steinbeck, according to James Gould Cozzens (1957)
I can’t read ten pages of Steinbeck without throwing up. I couldn’t read the proletariat crap that came out in the ’30s.

Jane Austen, according to Mark Twain (1898)
I haven’t any right to criticize books, and I don’t do it except when I hate them. I often want to criticize Jane Austen, but her books madden me so that I can’t conceal my frenzy from the reader; and therefore I have to stop every time I begin. Every time I read ‘Pride and Prejudice,’ I want to dig her up and hit her over the skull with her own shin-bone.

William Faulkner, according to Ernest Hemingway
Have you ever heard of anyone who drank while he worked? You’re thinking of Faulkner. He does sometimes — and I can tell right in the middle of a page when he’s had his first one.

and how would Hemingway know that?  indeed.

(via bookshelves of doom)

posting by marin (who is waiting for her big BEA box to arrive)

3 Responses to “oh snap!”

  1. David Says:

    One of my favorites was Truman Capote about Jack Kerouac: “That’s not writing, it’s typing.”

  2. Darren Nelson Says:

    Truman Capote called Jacqueline Suzanne a truck driver in drag and when she demanded an apology he apologized to truck drivers everywhere. Now that’s snarky.

  3. myounker Says:

    and just think, all of these comments occurred in a world before twitter.


Leave a Reply

