the art of getting unstuck

May 6, 2010

Damon Wayans has a debut novel, “Red Hats,” that seems an unlikely premise from the man who brought us Homey D. Clown.  based on fact and fiction, the story centers on Alma, a widow, who discovers herself through friendship with the “Red Hat” ladies.

Wayans was interviewed by Shelf Life and explains how he came about writing the book.

ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY: What inspired this for you? It seem like an interesting choice as a project for you.
DAMON WAYANS:
There are a few things that really got the ball rolling on this. One of them is I was stuck as an artist. I thought, ‘What am I going to do to rediscover my love for show business?’ I made some decent money, and I was thinking about retiring, thinking, ‘I don’t want to do this anymore.’ I got on a plane and went to Europe and wanted to find myself. I heard my whole childhood, little white kids saying, ‘I’m going to go to Europe and find myself.’

an encounter with Lionel Richie in Paris taught Wayans that starting simple would be the most effective way to tackle the fear causing the blockage.  a sequel is planned and Wayans dreams of Oprah and Mo’Nique starring in a screen adaptation of “Red Hats.”

posting by marin

Leave a Reply

