someone’s got some ‘splainin to do

February 22, 2010

Okay, I’m not sure what is going on over at Rolling Stone, but their website appears to have expired.  Expired, as in kaput, gone, disappeared.

Earlier this morning a story on Facebook had the provocative title of “Did Rolling Stone Forget to Renew its Domain Name?” Oddly enough clicking on this pulls up it’s own page not found result.  Even searching the Mashable site doesn’t pull it up.  Weird, right?  Makes you wonder about the validity of the story right?

mashable story on FB

So I went to the Rolling Stone URL to check it out.  And I got this.

RS 404 File Not Found

So then I read the comments on the Mashable post in Facebook and notice that someone says the domain is working for them with a link to the Rolling Stone website.

Which pulls up this.

Network Solutions page for Rolling Stone

In the top right corner is a link, why am I seeing this construction page.

construction page explanation

So I’m as mystified about the Rolling Stone site as anyone else.  I don’t know what happened to it, and maybe it’ll pop up later today.  One way or the other regardless somebody’s got some ‘splainin to do.

posting by jim

Update, the Mashable link is now live.  I’m not sure what happened earlier, I swear it wasn’t there 15 minutes ago.  I’ve updated the link to the Mashable story above if you want to read it.  11:20 AM

Update 11:24

And now the Rolling Stone site seems to be back up again.  Weird enough for ‘ya?

RS up but with error message

Leave a Reply

