i cannot picture this…

December 15, 2009

but Natalie Portman is expected to star and produce a movie adaptation of “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.”  says Annette Savitch who is co-producing

“Natalie and I are longtime passionate fans of Jane Austen’s books and this a fresh, fun and thought-provoking way to approach her work,” Savitch said. “The idea of zombies running rampant in 19th Century England may sound odd, but it lends a modern sense of urgency to a well known love story.”

dubious, very dubious, especially when the mash-up of Austen and zombies is described as “thought-proving.”  uh huh.

(via bookshelves of doom)

posting by marin

One Response to “i cannot picture this…”

  1. Joe Says:

    Although I enjoyed “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies”, I didn’t really find it thought-proving. That’s ok though, since I don’t usually expect the novels I read to be thought-proving. If I want thought-proving, I suppose I can always read that dusty copy of “Discourse on the Method of Rightly Conducting One’s Reason and of Seeking Truth in the Sciences” that’s sitting unread on my shelf.


Leave a Reply

