I’m trying to ingest a lot more craft and drawing books into the collection this year.  My hope is you will see results in Bibliocommons and on your shelves soon.

One title I just ordered I’d like to highlight because it’s something I was not at all familiar with, namely Zakka Embroidery Yumiko Higuchi.  It should be the in catalog within a couple of weeks.  Zakka, as I now know from this New York Times article (May 15th, 2001), is

… the term for everything and anything that spruces up your home, life and outlook.

It could be a wooden clothespin by an obscure company in New Hampshire, it could be an empty tomato-paste can saved for planting basil. Zakka is the art of seeing the savvy in the ordinary and mundane…

 

Roost Books Summary: 

Zakka Embroidery presents designs that are an elegant blend of Japanese and Scandinavian style. The motifs and patterns are spare and graphic, yet softened with organic shapes and imagery drawn from nature. The result is embroidery that evokes a personal feel and conjures a sense of nostalgia.

This is scheduled for July 4th and every random skim has made me laugh out loud.  I can only describe it as a naughty dead-on satire of literary refinement. It’ll probably be a pleasure for any Semple reader or those who liked Elisabeth Egan’s hysterical A Window Opens.  Please comment to claim, or if not I’ll be happy to take it home to savor.

Who Is Rich? by Matthew KlamPublisher Summary: 

Two people, who are married to other people, meet at a conference for artists and writers in a charming seaside village much like Provincetown. Rich, a formerly sort-of-famous cartoonist, and Amy, a student of narrative painting, shared a moment of passion the summer before, and have returned to see what happens next. In the wicked events that follow, both of their lives completely unravel…The long-awaited first novel from the acclaimed author of Sam the Cat is a provocative and hilarious satire of love, sex, money, and politics in our new gilded age—for readers of The Nix and This Is Where I Leave You.

According to EarlyWord, this title got a big boost from the author’s appearance on NPR – always a potential catapult for a chart-jumper.  Just a day after publication we have 44 holds and growing (on 3 intial copies – my face is frostbite red).  Hampton Sides’ In the Kingdom of Ice has circulated 337 times, so this seems bound to rack up checkouts as well.

Ice Ghosts

Summary from W. W. Norton: 

Ice Ghosts weaves together the epic story of the Lost Franklin Expeditionof 1845—whose two ships and crew of 129 were lost to the Arctic ice—withthe modern tale of the scientists, divers, and local Inuit behind the incrediblediscovery of the flagship’s wreck in 2014. Paul Watson, a Pulitzer Prize–winningjournalist who was on the icebreaker that led the discovery expedition, tellsa fast-paced historical adventure story: Sir John Franklin and the crew of theHMS Erebus and Terror setting off in search of the fabled Northwest Passage,the hazards they encountered and the reasons they were forced to abandonship hundreds of miles from the nearest outpost of Western civilization, andthe decades of searching that turned up only rumors of cannibalism and a fewscattered papers and bones—until a combination of faith in Inuit lore and thelatest science yielded a discovery for the ages.

This is now on order in the catalog and will be published by Simon & Schuster in September.  We’re starting with 40 copies.

Publisher Summary: 

George and LizzieFrom “America’s librarian” and NPR books commentator Nancy Pearl comes an emotionally riveting debut novel about an unlikely marriage at a crossroads.

George and Lizzie have radically different understandings of what love and marriage should be. George grew up in a warm and loving family—his father an orthodontist, his mother a stay-at-home mom—while Lizzie grew up as the only child of two famous psychologists, who viewed her more as an in-house experiment than a child to love.

Over the course of their marriage, nothing has changed—George is happy; Lizzie remains…unfulfilled. When a shameful secret from Lizzie’s past resurfaces, she’ll need to face her fears in order to accept the true nature of the relationship she and George have built over a decade together.

With pitch-perfect prose and compassion and humor to spare, George and Lizzie is an intimate story of new and past loves, the scars of childhood, and an imperfect marriage at its defining moments.

Besides unsurprising injections of new copies for Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology and George Saunders’ Lincoln in the Bardo, a somewhat unexpected rush on a flower gardening book appears in the Purchase Orders Placed Report this week. Floret Farm’s Cut Flower Garden (Hachette, published March 7) by Erin Benzakein (et al.) features a how-to on growing flowers from Skagit Valley’s own farm-to-centerpiece operation Floret Flowers.  Becky ordered this back in November and now it’s running 61 holds and rising.

 
Floret Farm's Cut Flower GardenPublisher Summary: From Erin Benzakein, a leader in the locaflor farm-to-centerpiece movement and owner of internationally renowned Floret Flower Farm, Cut Flower Garden is equal parts instruction and inspiration—a book overflowing with lush photography of magnificent flowers and breathtaking arrangements organized by season. This beautiful guide to growing, harvesting, and arranging gorgeous blooms year-round gives readers vital tools to nurture a stunning flower garden and use their blossoms to create showstopping arrangements. With irresistible photos of Erin’s flower farm that showcase exquisite blooms, tips for growing in a variety of spaces and climates as well as step-by-step instructions for lavish garlands, airy centerpieces, and romantic floral décor for every season, Floret Farm’s Cut Flower Garden informs and entices gardeners of all skill levels.

The standing order has been updated again this month (last rev. September 2016), and aside from a few quantity tweaks the main news is the addition of Graeme Simsion.  Simsion is now on book number 3  – The Best of Adam Sharp, published May 2nd by St. Martin’s.  His regularity and enduring popularity, especially in our system, make him a good fit for early and significant orders.  The Rosie Effect print book has circulated 690 times and the Rosie Project (which was a Best Bet) an incredible 3025 times!  The changes will be posted to the intranet as well soon.

Each week we get a report informing us of additional purchases of popular titles from the Holds Purchase Alert.  Next week I’d like to start featuring purchase-triggering authors who may not yet be on the standing order but should definitely be on the watch list.  Stay tuned.

 

Publisher summary: Two decades The Best of Adam Sharpago, Adam Sharp’s piano playing led him into a passionate relationship with Angelina Brown, an intelligent and strong-willed actress. They had a chance at something more–but Adam didn’t take it.

Now, on the cusp of turning fifty, Adam likes his life. He’s happy with his partner Claire, he excels in music trivia at quiz night at the local pub, he looks after his mother, and he does the occasional consulting job in IT. But he can never quite shake off his nostalgia for what might have been.

And then, out of nowhere, from the other side of the world, Angelina gets in touch. What does she want? Does Adam dare to live dangerously?

Set to the soundtrack of our lives, The Best of Adam Sharp follows along with emotion and humor as one man looks back on his past and decides if having a second chance is worth the risk.

 

Though no one seems to be getting official word from the publisher Hachette or any other news, it appears all currently-ordered upcoming print and physical audiobook titles of James Patterson’s new Bookshots series are being cancelled.  This has been confirmed from our vendors Baker & Taylor and Ingram. The print titles are definitely cancelled and the audio and e content may be but it’s less clear.  I will update you on any news.  In the meantime, we are cancelling orders and associated holds in Polaris as we get confirmation of cancelled publication from vendors,  and will rely on the usual cancellation message to customers. Please spread the word.

 

Do NOT expect these in our physical collections any time soon:

Update 3/9/17: We just got word from OverDrive that they believe this series is continuing in electronic formats as they seem to be doing well.

    Juror #3