what she said on Stieg Larsson

September 10, 2010

it took me 3 tries to get through “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.”  2 months ago, i dusted off my arc of “The Girl Who Played with Fire” and stopped just a few chapters in after the ad nauseam description of Ikea furniture and the financial nuances of who owned what and how much of Millennium magazine.  i just didn’t get it which is not an uncommon occurrence being a fairly picky reader.

Janet Porter over at The Millions expresses herself beautifully and much better than i can on just what is wrong with the Stieg Larsson trilogy.

An investigative journalist doesn’t adhere to the “show, don’t tell” creed of the fiction writer. A journalist’s creed is more like “tell, clarify, prove, cite, reiterate.” When a writer moves from journalism to fiction without swapping in the appropriate creed, the result is prose so burdened by over-explanation that it threatens to overshadow the action it’s describing. Such is the Millennium trilogy by investigative journalist Stieg Larsson, composed of The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played With Fire, and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, which currently sits atop every bestseller list in the country. It’s also one of the worst series of books I’ve ever read.

damn, i feel so much better!

(via PWxyz)

posting by marin who did like the movie much better than the book

8 Responses to “what she said on Stieg Larsson”

  1. siloak Says:

    You’re in good company, Marin. I loved the (first) movie and couldn’t read any of the books.

  2. Ubiquiti Says:

    As an enthusiast of information technology invite all lady interested in IT at my blog.
    Using of sense professional describe I analyze and torturing different type furniture – beginning by with
    mobile phones, on significantly HP servers, IMB or Cisco.
    Good contacts with distributors accesses buy me to many
    gear lot before the premiere.

  3. Ina Says:

    Hi my family member! I want to say that this post is awesome, nice
    written and include approximately all significant infos.

    I would like to see extra posts like this .


  4. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Cheers

  5. tutaj Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like
    you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog.
    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  6. serwer Says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I have
    definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this site,
    since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I
    could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting
    is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will
    very frequently affect your placement in google and could
    damage your quality score if advertising and marketing
    with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my
    e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content.

    Make sure you update this again soon.


  7. I every time used to study article in news papers but
    now as I am a user of internet therefore from now I am using net
    for articles or reviews, thanks to web.


  8. What’s up to all, as I am in fact keen of reading this website’s post to be updated daily.
    It contains nice data.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 494 other followers

